Hi there! I just really need to address this matter while it’s still fresh, to get out my initial excitement. So, today (June 3rd 2016) Machine Head published a new single called Is There Anybody out There?, independent from any album (as far as I know). I really hope you enjoy this one. (Lyrics at the end of the post).


There was expressed fear that this song wouldn’t sound like a Machine Head song. Let me give my opinion: This is definitely a Machine Head song. Might sound a bit different than the other songs, but  Rob Flynn’s vocals, the heavy guitars and drums and bass are there, the newly heavily incorporated classical instruments are there, like violins and cellos, and the lyrical themes are definitely there, which is the things I think make a song sound like Machine Head, at least these days.

I like the whistling in the intro, it gives a good feeling to the song, even though it’s kind of a false feeling because of the lyrics. But I definitely will get the melody stuck in my head for the next few days, perhaps even the whole month. I love the guitar riffs, especially in the intro, but overall good, and the combination of metal and classical in the choruses is excellent. The bridge and breakdown is great too: “Live my life like I’ll die tonight / Dream like I’ll live forever”. The sound of it is so good – the sound of the string instruments makes it sound like a horror movie, and I think it’s brilliant that they’ve incorporated the whistling in the breakdown as well. Flynn’s vocals are definitely as angry as they should be – raw and awesome.
The lyrics are kind of divided with one theme in the first verse, and another one in the second, and both well written, but still has an overall theme linked through the chorus. In the second verse they address a really important matter in the heavy metal and hard rock community, and really have been brave in publishing this song despite controversy and death threats. It’s about racism in metal, triggered by an incident earlier this year, at Dimebash 2016. The other themes in the song are love, loneliness and not understanding what’s going on in the world (according to Flynn himself). You can go and check out Rob Flynn’s reaction to the incident and the two making-of videos for the song at Machine Head’s YouTube channel (here).
I’ve tried to get the lyrics correctly by listening to it a bunch of times, since it’s so fresh that none of the standard lyric-pages I use have added the lyrics yet. Used my ears as good as I could, and got a little help from a YouTube-video (this one) (I will correct them if I get direct info from the band of the actual lyrics). I’m here, I’m listening, and I hear you. I stand with Rob Flynn and Machine Head.

Is there anybody out there? (x4)
Come on (x3)
Is anybody there?
Come on (x2)

Let me tell you something

I was born as a bastard

No father, no master
A shadow in silence left searching for answers
Put up for adoption
And left with no option
Another kid fostered to fester, forgotten
Take a look into these desperate eyes
As they’re cast into the wretched hive 

But I ain’t going down alone

Is there anybody out there?
Anybody listening to me?
Is anybody else scared?
The paranoia drops me to my knees
Does anybody feel lonely?
Disconnected from the things I see
Is there anybody out there?
Anybody out there just like me?
I’m choking on these words and I can’t breathe

Come on (x3)
Is anybody there?
Come on (x2)

Now let me say this

Now I stand as a father
To men with no honor
Ashamed of the racists I used to call brothers
Cause no flag can mean bravery
When bloodied by slavery
The rebel, a devil, disguised as a savior
And the sickening feeling in the air
Is the fear to speak that no one dares

So will I stand here all alone?

Is there anybody out there?
Anybody listening to me?
Is anybody else scared?
The paranoia drops me to my knees
Does anybody feel lonely?
Disconnected from the things I see
Is there anybody out there?
Anybody out there just like me?
Choking on these words and I can’t breathe

Live my life like I’ll die tonight
Dream like I’ll live forever (x2)
Is there anybody out there?

I have roared at the world for years
(Is there anybody out there?)
Doesn’t anybody hear me?
This burden suffered, I’ve paid the cost
(Is there anybody out there?)
Not all who wander are lost

Is there anybody, is there anybody, is there anybody…

Is there anybody out there?
Anybody listening to me?
Is anybody else scared?
The paranoia drops me to my knees
Does anybody feel lonely?
Disconnected from the things I see
Is there anybody out there?
Anybody out there just like me?
Choking on these words and I can’t breathe

Come on (x3)
Is anybody there?
Come on (x2)
Is there anybody, is there anybody…
Is there anybody out there?
(Is There Anybody Out There – Machine Head)

 

