Hi! Been a little busy with my Bachelor’s thesis, but I’m taking the evening off to do some other things, like house chores and blogging. So, I thought I would share my current favorite song. For the past few days I’ve been listening to the song Who Taught You How To Hate by Disturbed, off their latest album, Immortalized (2015). Falling in and out of love with music and writing, and the fact that I take my studies seriously, is what makes this blog unstable. But lately I’ve tried to write some stuff which I publish every few days, but now it’s suddenly been almost a month since my last post. Anyways. Here are the lyrics to the song, and below is the song (hopefully embedded in the post, WordPress can be a little unreliable in that aspect). Enjoy!

 

As always, I love Disturbed’s guitar riffs. They don’t need to be complicated even, because they sound great anyways, and just simply rock. With a good drum beat and bass chugging as well, this is a song to get stuck in your head. And don’t think I forgot the lyrics and Draiman’s impeccable voice. The lyrics tells a tale of people, innocent at first, but all eventually corrupted by hate. There is someone who has made you so angry and hateful, someone who “plants an evil seed”. He’s asking if there’s a cure for it, for this infection, or if all is lost. Really poetic, and relevant, because there are so many people who is filled with hate, and Draiman’s kind of saying that people aren’t born with hate, that someone taught them how to hate. I think I’m not the only one that can find some truth in his words, which is all wrapped up in Draiman’s powerful voice and with convincing emotion. Combine all these aspects, and, to me, this all adds up to nothing short of a metal anthem. (Great headbanging-factor!). Catchy like a motherfucker, as well.

 

Find my hands on his throat
Yet hear myself say
Tell me now, who taught you how to hate?
Because it isn’t in your blood
Not a part of what you’re made
So let this be understood
Somebody taught you how to hate
When you live this way, you become
Dead to everyone”

(Who Taught You How To Hate – Disturbed)

 

 

