Hi, there! Trying to blog a little more now, hoping that if I put in a little work here, I might be motivated to work on my bachelor’s degree. I find it funny how I always feel like blogging or doing something ELSE creative other than the thing I really need to do, like reading/preparing for an exam, writing a paper, or some other more important stuff (especially when I have to write something else!). However, today’s song is Fire It Up by Disturbed, off their newest album, Immortalized (2015). Here are the lyrics. Have a good time listening!

 

 

Yes, this song is about smoking weed. No doubt about it. If you didn’t recognize the sounds in the start of the song (sound of a bong, if you didn’t know), you most certainly will understand because of all the euphemisms and metaphors Draiman is using to get the message across. He has even stated himself in an interview (with Loudwire, which you can find here) that it is exactly what the song is about – that he find inspiration to write music while under the influence. It really comes across in the first verse also: “When I need to spark a bit of inspiration / And the melody feels like it’s trapped inside / All I need is a bit of illumination / So the rhythm can no longer run and hide”. The song itself is great. I really like Disturbed. Love the guitar riffs (so many great guitar riffs, oh my God), and the drums and bass are wonderful too. Don’t especially like the topic, but the song is great, and I think it’s working for them, because their music is excellent, this song is no exception. I think the use of metaphors in the song is good, especially “leaves of the devil” I really liked. This is a great song to listen to before you go out, even if you don’t smoke weed, because it is energetic and has great rhythm (or maybe work out to?).

 

“Fire it up
Cause when I fire it up, I feel like serenity
I feel like serenity, is mine”
(Fire It Up – Disturbed)

 

