Hi! Time for a new song review. This time I’ve chosen a song by the American rock band Flyleaf, called Set Me On Fire, off their album Between the Stars (2014). Here are the lyrics. Enjoy.

 

If not anything else, at least it’s heavily catchy. Really stuck in my head  on and off a lot since the first time I heard it. Not many songs that manage that with me. Maybe I’m not Flyleaf’s biggest fan, but this one went straight to my Starred list on Spotify (except now Spotify has decided to remove the song again – thank God for YouTube). Like the riffs, and like Kristen’s voice, too. Love the prominent bass in the verses, which really makes the otherwise pop-ish tune sound more like rock. The song really comes through in the choruses, loosing somewhat the pop-sound, and Kristen uses her voice more for an energetic rock sound.

 

“Now I feel the fear rising up
Climbing up, taking over my body
And I feel my pulse starting up
Waking me again”

(Set Me On Fire – Flyleaf)

 

