I’m usually not particularly a big fan of Lady Gaga, I’m no “Monster”, that’s for sure (what die-hard Lady Gaga fans calls themselves – derived from her album titled The Fame Monster from 2009); as you probably can guess, I’m more of a “EvHead” or “Head Case” (what Evanescence and Machine Head fans, respectively, call themselves) but that’s another subject and discussion entirely. This song stuck me like lightning in broad daylight. I liked it instantly, and knowing the background of the song, I like it even more. This song was written for the documentary film “The Hunting Ground” (2015), and is based on personal life experiences in Lady Gaga’s life. She was raped. She dedicated this song to rape-survivors, and to promote anti-rape on college campuses in America, because one in five women become victims of sexual assault.

She did a wonderful performance of the song at the 88th Oscars Award this year (2016), where she brought a group of sexual assault survivors up on stage, both men and women, who stood together with her for the latter half of the song. It was beautiful and moving. See for yourselves.

To have it said: Yes, I cried. This is an important subject, and I urge you, not as a woman, not only for women, but as a person, for every human on the planet, help prevent rape. Because until it happens to you, you won’t know how it feels.

“Tell me how the hell could you know? How could you know? 
Til it happens to you, you don’t know how it feels”

(Til It Happens To You – Lady Gaga)

