I know, I know, it’s been too damn long, but there’s been a lot going on, so that’s my “excuse”. For my “comeback” (God, I’ve had a lot of those), I’m featuring a new band for this blog: Disturbed. They’re a heavy metal band from Chicago, and they have 5 studio albums and one compilation album in their repertoire. The song I’m writing about today is called Stricken off the album The Thousand Fists (2005). Hope you all enjoy the song, the lyrics (here) and the twisted music video!

This song is pretty heavy sound wise and in the lyrics. The voice of the vocalist, David Draiman, is rough and cool, and it sounds awesome. I love the chugging guitars and the beat of the song, which gives the lyrics more attitude when sung out. The lyrics are great and they say a lot about the tormented soul of this person, feelings that many can relate to. Especially “into the abyss will I run” is very dark and deep. Of course I love the guitar solo, it’s fantastic. The band actually stated that  they felt that guitar solos are a part of music that is absent in a lot of modern music, and they wanted to bring some of that back, and they did very well in doing so. The music video seems dark and twisted, and (according to Wikipedia) some of it was filmed in an abandoned hospital in which some scenes from the 1984 horror film A Nightmare on Elm Street were filmed, which is pretty cool. I usually don’t write about songs the same day I hear it for the first time, but with this song I’ll gladly make an exception.

“You’ll never know how your face has haunted me
My very soul has to bleed this time
Another hole in the wall of my inner defenses
Leaving me breathless”
(Stricken – Disturbed)

