Hi ya’ll! It’s been a bit too long since last time, but now I’m taking the time I really don’t have to write about this song that I have been putting off for too long. This time it’s Lost In Paradise by Evanescence, published on their self-titled album (Evanescence) in 2011. I’ve both covered the album version and the acoustic version, because I love both and they are both different and special in their own way. Here are the lyrics. Enjoy!

This song starts out very calmly and builds up to be a powerful rock ballad. The piano and strings are sweet, but when the band kicks in the song is lifted to another dimension, it’s blown wide open and the instruments enhance the lyrics.  The lyrics are beautiful and strong, but at the same time vulnerable. Amy’s voice is powerful and captivating, and she brings out the lyrics with such gracefullness and, yes, power.
The acoustic version is a bit different, since the rest of the band is not involved, just Amy alone by the piano and no big editing, but I like it very much! I like the video itself too, it’s simple, but still good. Amy’s voice is clean and beautiful, even without the editing (like those of you who have heard the Evanescence “Anywhere But Home” live album or been to one of their concerts would know!). This song is just as good with and without the band, and is kind of a different song without the band, but still just as good in my eyes.
I think this song is just beautiful and powerful, and I really love it.

 

 
“All the promises I made
Just to let you down
You believed in me but I’m broken
I have nothing left, and all I feel is this cruel wanting
We’ve been falling for all this time
And now I’m lost in paradise”
(Lost In Paradise – Evanescence)

 

