Hello readers! This time I’m super excited to do a post on a song called Darkness Within. This little pearl of a song is by the American heavy metal band Machine Head, and was published in 2011 on the album Unto the Locust. Here are the lyrics, and the music video is below. Enjoy!

I’ve definitely missed out on something here by not giving Machine Head a shot before. Won’t happen again! I really love the intro and the first verse, how quiet it starts and how rough it gets as the song continues, and then slows down as it fades to an end. I feel blessed for finding this song just by “accident”, just by deciding to listen to one of the songs in the Loudwire Music Awards polls. I really recommend you listen to everything there, because it’s not for nothing the music there gets nominated for the awards.
I love how they make the lyrics to be about music in a way: “music it will set you free” “music my savior”. I enjoy the rest of the lyrics very much as well, of course, and the vocalist, Robb Flynn, is wonderful. I don’t really need to tell you that I think the guitar solo was awesome, you heard it yourselves! The music video, as you could see in the beginning, was filmed in Prague (and Kutna Hora), Czech Republic. (I’ve been there a couple of times, so I really knew the places that were filmed). I really enjoyed watching it, even though it was a little twisted with the whole maggot-in-mouth thing. Dark and twisted is awesome too, as you all know well. I really just love this song, it’s amazing and brilliant in my eyes, and I hope you can get at least some of the feelings that I get from this song, because that says something about the greatness of the song.

“Haunted by its melody
music it will set you free
let it set you free”
(Darkness Within – Machine Head)

