Well, time for another song! This time it’s Hurt by Johnny Cash (originally by Nine Inch Nails). The song was published in 2002 on the album American IV: The Man Comes Around, as one of the last songs recorded by Cash. Here are the lyrics. Listen and enjoy.

A classic. Listened to this once after not having heard it in over a year or so, and it made me tear up. It’s so beautiful. Johnny’s voice is impeccable, a little rough, but so good. Just might be one of the best pieces of music in the world. Liked by so many. It begins so calmly and builds up, and ends with just Johnny’s voice again, and that is so great. The music video is very strong, and the lyrics are too.

 

“What have I become, my sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away in the end
And you could have it all, my empire of dirt
I will let you down, I will make you hurt”
(Hurt – Johnny Cash)

 

