For today’s post I decided to write about one of the classics; Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana. The song was published in 1991 on the album Nevermind. Here are the lyrics.

The guitar riffs and solo are just awesome, Kurt Kobain’s voice is impeccable and the lyrics are cool (and somewhat random, I mean “A mosquito, my libido” hello?). This is just as I said, a classic. There is so much to like about it, and not much to say, because I have so much respect for it, that I don’t exactly know what to say about it to honor it right. But I think it’s brilliant as a piece of original music.
I like this song so much that I’ve decided to quote it twice:

 

“And I forget just why I taste 
Oh yeah, I guess it makes me smile 
I found it hard, it’s hard to find 
Oh well, whatever, never mind”


“With the lights out, it’s less dangerous

Here we are now, entertain us
Life is stupid and contagious
Here we are now, entertain us”
(Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit)

 

