Hey! Now, it’s been too long since last time, so it’s really due for another post. This time it’s Tourniquet by Evanescence (suggested by one of my dear friends, so it’s not me this time). Published on the album Fallen in 2003. Here are the lyrics, and the song below:

This song is very beautiful. Amy’s voice sounds soΒ vulnerable and sincere, and I think it’s great. Let’s face it, this is a suicide song, but it’s about whether or not God will accept you if you kill yourself: “My God, my tourniquet, return to me salvation” “Will I be denied, Christ, tourniquet, my suicide”. It’s kind of cool that Amy has said that it has happened several times that she has started to crack up in laughter right before singing this song live, and making it hard for herself to sound serious, since she’s starting out with a sweet and calm tone “I tried to kill the pain, but only brought more”, and that is supposed to be sad and stuff, but she is struggling to not laugh. That is kind of funny, and makes the song not seem so serious after all. But it is, and the lyrics are so sad and, sadly mean so much to so many people, but I hope this will make people realize that they are not alone, and maybe also realize that things can really get better, because I know it can. Β I really like the guitar riffs, and I think it’s awesome when she screams “I long to die!”, which is actually from Romeo and Juliet. I like this song. That’s it.

 

“I tried to kill the pain, but only brought more, so much more
I lay dying, and I’m pouring crimson regret and betrayal”
(Tourniquet – Evanescence)

 

