Hey! Now, it’s been too long since last time, so it’s really due for another post. This time it’s Duality by Slipknot. Published on the album Vol 3: (The Subliminal Verses) in 2004, and became the first single off the album. Wise choice, I must say. Here are the lyrics, and the crazy music video below:

I’ve just been walking around for a couple of weeks now, whispering to myself “I push my fingers into my EYES!”, just smiling about it, so now I thought it was about time I shared this song with you. Finally some true inspiration!

I really enjoyed the opening line “I push my fingers into my eyes!” in a strange way. The brutality of it all just appealed to me. Further on, he sings “Jesus, it never ends”, and he’s right, and that is a thing I would say myself, so I really liked that he just sang it straight forward. Actually, I think the whole song is awesome in terms of the lyrics. I could go on quoting examples, but I will try to detain myself.

I think the riffs are seriously great, and I love the way the song is built up, the way Corey just speaks the lyrics in the verses is just creepy “I’ve left behind this little fact, you cannot kill what you did not create”.  The piano in the intro makes the mood creepy too.
Freaking fantastic!

 

“I gotta say what I gotta say, and then I swear I’ll go away
But I can’t promise you’ll enjoy the noise”
(Duality – Slipknot)

 

