Hey! Today I’m doing a post on the song Farther Away by Evanescence. The song was published on the Mystary EP (2002) as a B-side on the Bring Me To Life Single (2003), and later was published on Anywhere But Home (2004) in a live version. Here are the lyrics, and here’s the song:

 

I love the introduction riffs on this song. Jesus Christ, they are awesome! The lyrics are slightly dark, and just the way I like them. “I sold my soul just to hide the light”. Dark indeed. I have said it before, and I say it again, Amy Lee has an incredible voice! “Don’t leave me here, by myself, I can’t breathe”. Just saying.
The guitar riffs are, as I said, awesome, and I quite like the drum beat in the end. I don’t think that is regular drums, but rather some kind of tribal drums. I also love that in the end you can hear the piano playing a very sweet melody. The contrast between the guitars and the piano is pretty cool.

“Tried to forget you, but without you I feel nothing”
(Farther Away – Evanescence)

