Today I am presenting a song by the famous American heavy metal band Slipknot. The song I have chosen is called “Snuff”, from their album All Hope Is Gone, released in 2008. For those who didn’t know (and I expect it’s not that many!), they are well known for their special masks that they wear when they preform, and they are known for playing heavy. That is why this song may be a bit surprising, but I love it. Enjoy listening to it, and the lyrics too, which you can find by pressing here.

 

Snuff is beautiful. It starts out slow, both in the playing, and the lyrics, blaming the “me” in the song, and as the song continues, it gets more agressive, with rougher playing, and rougher lyrics, that shifts the blame over on the “you” of the song. When I say the blame, I mean what I interpret as blame for a break-up. It goes from “My heart is just too dark to care” til the point of “You couldn’t hate enough to love. Is that supposed to be enough?” and “You sold me out to save yourself”. You see that as the song escalades, the hatred in the song, and within the singer, escalades too.
This is not what you would usually expect from Slipknot, as this song isn’t the only song I’ve checked out by these guys, but it’s not disappointing.
Sound-wise the song is special, the guitar riffs are unusual (at least I think so), and the construction is different, but that is one of the things I love about this song. The more I listen to it, the more I love it. And the lyrics explain so much.
“I only wish you weren’t my friend. Then I could hurt you in the end”
(Snuff – Slipknot)

