Hi there! Sorry, I’m a bit behind on my schedule now, but I hope you forgive me. At least I’ve managed to keep the posts within 24 hours of each other. Today I’m writing about the song Never Enough by Epica, a Dutch symphonic metal band. The song was released on the album The Divine Conspiracy in 2007. The epic lyrics are here (though I think they are a bit wrong, but I’ll get back to that), and the official music video is (or at least should be) below:

The voice of the Simone Simons, the vocalist, is really remarkable. It is downright grand. In the refrain we can hear both Simone’s wonderful voice, and the other vocalist, and founder of the band, Mark Jansen’s deep growls in the background.  The song is really big and sort of gothic, even though it’s not really what you would think when you read the lyrics. I like the whole sound of the song, the combination of Simone’s voice, the synth piano and violins, and the constantly chugging guitars.

I think there is an error in the lyrics, and I couldn’t find any lyrics page that had the right ones. Instead of “Because you are consumed and incontent”, I think it should be “Because you are consumed and in contempt. What do you think? I think it sounds better, since I’ve never heard of the word “incontent” (and neither did the online dictionaries!), and “in content” sounds weird to me, but “in contempt” would suit well for the context, I think. This kind of ruined my quote. Damn it.  (Let me know what you think!)

The music video is really self explanatory, so I don’t have to say much about it, except from stating the fact that Simone looks smashing, and that I like the fact that the band is flashing on and off again in the video. Cool concept.

 

“Always hearing what your ears can’t hear
Feeling what your hands can’t touch
Thinking you’re incomplete”
(Never Enough – Epica)

 

