Well, it’s Friday, and I’m going home for the weekend, and it’s been two weeks since last time, so I really miss it.
That’s why today’s song is “Home” by Daughtry. The song was released on the self titled album (Daughtry) in 2006.
The wonderful lyrics you will find here, and the song itself is right below:

 

 

What really strikes me is the soar voice of Chris Daughtry. I can feel him longing to get home, and right now, so do I.
The music itself is sort of simple, but for this song I like it. There is a slow verse, and a build-up to the powerful refrain, and another verse and refrain, and a bridge and final refrain. (Listing the obvious things, I know, but hey, report me if you find it offensive! I just want to go home!)
The lyrics are the best thing about the whole song, I think, because that’s exactly how I feel. The entire refrain is just “my thoughts exactly!” The rest is a mix of everything. Love the bridge too, though. Both musically and lyrically. “Be careful what you wish for, cause you just might get it all, and then some you don’t want”.  Wonderful. A lesson in life, if you would.
Well, now I’m soon off to the bus stop, cause I’m going home.

 

“I’m not running from, no I think you got me all wrong
I don’t regret this life I chose for me
But these faces and these places are getting old, so I’m going home” 

 

