Hey ya’ll!
It’s the last post of the weekend, and I thought “Hey, why don’t make it a grand ending?” (I know the time is after midnight, but still).
Thereof this choice. My Immortal by Evanescence. Published on “Fallen” in 2003. Lyrics and REAL music video, for a change (it has been a couple of songs since there have been an official music video on my blog)!

This is wonderful. Such a beautiful song, with great lyrics. I really love all versions, but I love this one the most. It depends a little on my mood though, because when I want a slow version, I put on the all-piano version (link here). There is also a version with different text, which is the original, written exclusively by Ben Moody(according to The Evanescence Reference) (Video link here, lyrics link here).
I really love how the song is built up. It’s slow through almost the whole song, but from “I’ve been alone all along” and to the end, they’ve put in guitars with a little solo part and drums. Love that. I also love the piano playing, I really love it. The melody is perfect, too.

(For this post I will use two quotes from the song, so here they come):

 

“These wounds won’t seem to heal, this pain is just too real,
there’s just too much that time cannot erase”
“I’ve tried so hard to tell myself that you’re gone, 
but though you’re still with me, I’ve been alone all along”

(My Immortal – Evanescence)

